NICEVILLE, FL — On Friday, November 2nd, the Northwest Florida State College Foundation held their Annual Scholars and Donors Luncheon. This year, the NWF State College Foundation celebrated scholarship recipients, the donors who made their scholarships possible, and recognized the 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award winners. Held every fall, the luncheon provides an opportunity for students to meet and thank their donors in person. Donors are seated with their scholars and are able to learn first-hand how their generosity impacts students. The Foundation continues to award more than $600,000 dollars in scholarship funding each year to deserving students.

Five NWF Alumni were recognized and awarded as the 2018 Distinguished Alumni: Jeffrey “Mark” Glass – Distinguished Alumni; Sean Dietrich – Against the Odds; Nakara Beliveau – Rising Star; Ryan Bullard – Rising Star; Lowell C. Larson, Jr. – Hometown Hero. Biographies of each Alumni Award Winner can be found on the Foundation’s website.

Members of the Visionary Society were also recognized: The Eglin Air Force Association (AFA) Chapter 365 established the Eglin Air Force Association Bob Patterson/Shirley Pigott Scholarship Endowment; and the donors who established the Lyn L. Troxler Scholarship Endowment. NWF State College Foundation’s Visionary Society program provides recognition to the elite group of donors committed to building a strong foundation for years to come through the establishment of an endowment.

As the event came to a close, Northwest Florida State College President, Dr. Devin Stephenson, addressed the crowd, “I am overwhelmed by the generosity in this room and encouraged by the life changers who sit among us. What we have here are those who give unselfishly to help this College secure the future of this region.”

Tags: , ,

Share this article