NWFSC Foundation Governance Committee Meeting Building 400, Room 308, Niceville Campus April 14, 2022, 11:30 a.m.

Members Present:

Cindy Frakes Todd Grisoff Dave Jefferson J.D. Peacock – Telephone Ken Wampler Steve Wolfrom

Staff Present: Kelly Copeland Kira Magruder

Carla Reinlie Chris Stowers

Others Present:

Dr. Devin Stephenson

Absent:

Marek Bakun Heather Kilbey Don Litke Rhonda Skipper

Call to order:

Mr. Wampler called the meeting to order at 11:38 a.m.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes from the February 17,2022 Governance Committee meeting were approved. Motion to approve minutes, Todd Grisoff; Second, Dave Jefferson. Motion carried unanimously.

2022-2023 Slate of Officers and Directors:

Mr. Stowers presented the slate of officers and directors for 2022-2023. Mr. Stowers stated four directors have been reappointed and two new directors will be joining our Board. Jonathan Ochs has been nominated as Treasurer. All are excited, willing, and able to serve. **Motion to approve the 2022-23 Slate of Officers and Directors for presentation to the Board, Steve Wolfrom; Second, Todd Grisoff. Motion carried unanimously.**

Review of the Foundation Mission:

Mr. Stowers presented the Foundation Mission Statement for review. After review, the committee determined the mission statement should stay "Northwest Florida State College Foundation utilizes your gifts to support the college, enhance our community, and improve students' lives" as it reflects the goals of the Foundation. Motion to approve the Foundation mission as presented, Steve Wolfrom; Second, Dave Jefferson. Motion carried unanimously.

Review of Foundation Bylaws/Policies:

Mr. Stowers presented the bylaws and policies identified by staff as needing discussion along with recommendations. Bylaws – language regarding the Treasurer providing a written report of the finances of the Foundation has not been updated to reflect quarterly Board meetings. Investment – Staff recommends the language regarding the Foundation serving as a trustee be stricken to be consistent

with the GP # 16 – Gift Acceptance. Contracting and Professional Services – Staff recommends the language of the Foundation Executive Director be updated to reflect the accurate title. Restricted Funds – Staff recommends changing the language to accurately reflect the type of scholarship fund described in the policy. Naming – Staff recommends changing the language to reflect that no goods or services are being exchanged for payment, but a philanthropic gift will be recognized. Gift Acceptance – Staff recommends updating the language to create consistency and specify that the Gift Acceptance Committee has the authority to make decisions about accepting certain gifts. Motion to approve the changes to Bylaws, Investment, Contracting and Professional Services, Restricted Funds, Naming, and Gift Acceptance policies for presentation to the Board, Dave Jefferson; Second, Cindy Frakes. Motion carried unanimously.

Review FY2021 NWFSC/Foundation MOU:

Mr. Stowers presented the NWFSC/Foundation MOU. He highlighted specific areas of the MOU to be stricken regarding Emerald Coast Music Alliance pending dissolution of the ECMA restricted fund agreement. Mr. Stowers also noted the MOU will be updated once the 2022-2023 budget is finalized. **Motion to approve the Northwest Florida State College and NWFSC Foundation MOU, Todd Grisoff; Second, Steve Wolfrom. Motion carried unanimously.**

Ken Wampler, Governance Committee Chair

Chris Stowers, Secretary

a/14/22 Date

Date

NORTHWEST FLORIDA STATE COLLEGE FOUNDATION

Board of Directors 2022-23

The Northwest Florida State College Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of community leaders who volunteer their time and talents to help ensure the organization achieves its mission.

Executive Committee

Chair: Bo Arnold Vice Chair: Alan Wood, CCB Bank Treasurer: Jonathan Ochs, Trustmark Bank Past Chair: Ken Wampler, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties Secretary: Chris Stowers, Executive Director NWF State College President: Devin Stephenson Trustee Liaison: Maj. Gen. Don Litke

Directors

Christie Austin, Community Bank James Bagby, One Seagrove Place Destin Cobb, Carr, Riggs & Ingram Cindy Frakes, ERA American Real Estate Todd Grisoff, Active Marketing Group Teresa Halverson, Manor at Bluewater Bay Tyler Jarvis, Bald & The Beard Restaurant Group Dave Jefferson, SimpleHR Bernard Johnson, Florida Power & Light Heather Kilbey, Professional Products Gordon King, Okaloosa Gas Kim Kirby, Walton County School Board Vincent Mayfield, Bit-Wizards Michelle McGee Freeman, Fleet & Smith, P.A. J.D. Peacock, Okaloosa Clerk of Court **Brian Pennington** Steve Rhodes, CHELCO Hu Ross, Polaris Wealth Management Stanley Siefke Rhonda Skipper, Walton County Tax Collector Cecil Williams, Gregg Chapel AME Church