NWFSC Foundation Governance Committee Meeting February 13, 2020 8:00 a.m. Room 308, SSC, Niceville Campus

### Members Present:

Bo Arnold Bernard Johnson Dale Peterson Steve Wills Steve Wolfrom

## Staff Present:

Shiri Brandenburg Cristie Kedroski Melissa Wolf-Bates Carla Reinlie Annie Young

Absent: Chad Hamilton, Heather Kilbey, Don Litke, Mitch Mongell, Melissa Pilcher

# Call to Order:

Mr. Peterson called the meeting to order at 8:02 am.

## Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the September 12, 2019 committee meeting were approved. Motion to approve minutes as presented, Mr. Wills; Second, Mr. Wolfrom. Motion carried unanimously.

### Foundation Nominations - Directors - Existing:

Mr. Peterson reviewed the list of directors that will term limit out as of June 30, 2020 and those eligible for reappointment (Michelle McGee, J.D. Peacock, Ken Wampler, and Alan Wood). After a brief discussion, the committee came to the consensus to reappointment those eligible. **Motion to approve** reappointment of the four directors eligible for a second term, Dr. Arnold; Second, Mr. Wills. Motion carried unanimously.

## Foundation Nominations - Directors - New:

Mr. Peterson presented the candidates nominated to begin a three year appointment beginning July 1, 2020. Ms. Kedroski added that the committee has worked to grow the board, and with the implementation of term limits has sought to ensure a consistent number rolling off each year. Additionally she reviewed the candidate process: initial nomination; initial approval of Governance Committee; meeting with candidate, nominator or board member, and Ms. Kedroski; generation of slate from Governance Committee; approval of the slate by the board. After discussing the candidates and needs of the board, the committee came to the consensus to move forward with seven candidates: Destin Cobb, Cindy Frakes, Todd Grisoff, Dave Jefferson, Steve Rhodes, Rhonda Skipper, and Cecil Williams. Motion to move forward with the seven candidates, Mr. Wills; Second, Mr. Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

# Foundation Nominations - Vice Chair/Chair:

Mr. Peterson reviewed the process of advancing leadership. It was noted that, while the process is not in policy, the practice and understanding is that members move through the leadership ladder from treasurer to vice chair and vice chair to chair. However, the candidates must be voted on annually. The committee agreed to continue with the current progression. Motion to approve Mr. Peacock as Chair and Mr. Wampler as Vice Chair as of July 1, 2020, Mr. Wills; Second, Mr. Wolfrom. Motion carried unanimously.

### Foundation Nominations - Treasurer:

Mr. Peterson presented the nominees for Treasurer. As Dr. Arnold was present, he stepped out of the room for the discussion. After reviewing the candidates, the committee selected Dr. Arnold as Treasurer. Motion to move nomination forward, Mr. Wills; Second, Mr. Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

### Upcoming Items:

Ms. Kedroski shared upcoming agenda items for the next meeting. She noted that staff would do a review of the Foundation Policies/Bylaws and bring forward any suggestions, but the full document is on the Foundation's website for the committee to review prior to the next meeting at their convenience. She also mentioned that the College/Foundation MOU and board member survey would be reviewed in April. Additionally she recalled a previous discussion by the committee to increase survey participation by bringing it as an action item to a board meeting. After some discussion, the committee decided to look at the need of the survey every year and the addition of new questions at the April meeting. Lastly there was discussion on the possibility of eliminating/adding an opt-out option for receiving paper packets/documents at meetings. The Foundation staff will look into electronic options for possible implementation in the future.

## **Other Business:**

Next Meeting: Thursday, April 23, 2020 Room 308, SSC, Niceville Campus

### Adjournment:

With there being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:07 a.m.

Chad Hamilton, Governance Committee Chair

Cristie Kedroski, Secretary

 $\frac{11/4/2020}{\text{Date}}$