NWFSC Foundation Development Committee Alumni Working Group February 28, 2017, 8:00 a.m. Arpke Room (315), SSC, Niceville Campus

Members Present:

Bart Fleet Paige Floyd-Hart

Staff Present: Jason Masters

Carla Reinlie

Julie Sartori

Chad Hamilton

Tom Rice

Absent: Serena Brown, Cristie Kedroski, Steve Wills

Call to Order:

Ms. Reinlie called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m.

2017 Alumni Awards:

Ms. Reinlie presented an alumni award worksheet and a packet of all the nominations to the committee. She went over the 4 award category definitions and touched upon the requirements necessary for a nominee to qualify for the awards. She also noted that the committee is not pressured to choose a nominee if none of them are deemed to be worthy. After outlining the ground rules for the selection process, they discussed the nominees. The committee came to agreement with the winner of the Against the Odds Category being Edgar Omar Lara, the winner of the Hometown Hero category being Jillian Marie Schoenfeld Davis and the winner of the Rising Star category being Ramon Antonio Maldonado. The committee members also recommended to change some aspects of the nomination form and to not allow self-nominations in the future. Mr. Rice noted that the nomination form should focus the applicant's responses more, and offered up resources for staff to use as an example. Ms. Reinlie noted that the state-wide Leroy Collins award is also this year, and that at the next meeting the committee will decide whether or not to submit any of the alumni award winners of the past two years for consideration.

Adjournment: There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:03 a.m.

Carla Reinlie, Associate Director

2-28-17

1

Date